Seriously London 2012?

27 Apr

If you haven’t heard, the London Olympics Committee is prohibiting folks from taking their own pictures and posting them to their own social media sites.  Here is the fine print of what a ticket purchase means:

19.6.3- Images, video and sound recordings of the Games taken by a Ticket Holder cannot be used for any purpose other than for private and domestic purposes and a Ticket Holder may not license, broadcast or publish video and/or sound recordings, including on social networking websites and the internet more generally, and may not exploit images, video and/or sound recordings for commercial purposes under any circumstances, whether on the internet or otherwise, or make them available to third parties for commercial purposes

I don’t get it!  So you can take a picture with your digital camera, but you can never upload those images to your social network?  I’m sorry but what century do these guys live in?  I’m not saying the world had to revolve around social media, but let’s be honest- social media is our scrap book.  It’s where a majority of the population records their life: in pictures, quotes, sounds and video.  What’s the point of going to a major event if you are not allowed to take a picture and share it with friends and family who couldn’t go?

Heck- the photo album and digital life scrapbook I have on Facebook is one of the reasons it’s taken me so long (and still will) to get going with Google+.  Saying this out loud around my parents may make me sound like a freak, but here on the internet, I feel I can comfortably say this- “My life is recorded in Facebook posts and shares and pictures”.  That’s not to say I can’t live without it, but it is an intricate part of how I live my life.  After we called all our immediate family members, it was how we announced our engagement (one of the reasons I’ve been absent from this blog).  It’s how I can connect daily with the people I love and care about, without needing to know every detail.  It’s how I’ve reconnected with friends and family throughout the years, because for some reason, I am post office phobic.

 

Now I realize this is language that is very similar to what is being shared on most tickets for most events.  Clearly, you don’t want people selling photos or videos who did not pay their due share to the organizing committee.  However, I know what the Olympics look like on television, and frankly, I don’t know if I ever want to go (I get my fix from the replays and more).  But from a brand perspective, wouldn’t you want people constantly sharing with their friends just how much fun they are having at the Olympics?  If my understanding of events like this is correct, you go for the atmosphere, which is something that is much better retold by someone who is enjoying themselves that I know, rather than NBC (in the US) having their Today Show corespondents doing things that I won’t get to do- even if I paid to go.

This is the moment where I wish old brands would pull their heads out of their behinds and realize the internet is their friend.  Social Media would make your games more exciting.  And yes, you won’t be able to control every message that comes out, but you may just seem way cooler if you had allowed for social media interaction!

What are your thoughts on live events trying to limit social media interaction- and what are some good examples of the people who do it right?

Leave a Reply

