Loving my Library’s Digital Library!

8 Dec

I’m back guys and gals.  Sorry it’s been so long.  Not sure where the past couple of months have gone.  I think they’ve gone into the depths of personal life, professional life, and non-existent personal internet life. And when I mean my personal internet life has been non-existent, I mean I haven’t been on twitter, barely on my live journal fandom pages, and haven’t even really been following tv spoilers.  Fun fact about me- way back in the day (circa- 1998, I was forced to go to school when I really wanted to stay at home and watch my stories…haha) I would log on AOL and go to the Soap Opera chat rooms, finding out spoilers (a word I learned about from them) for the next day’s episode, while reading a re-cap.  Fun times

This lack of internet time has had one small upside.  By the end of the day, I’ve been so burnt out on my professional endeavors on the internet that I needed to find a little more time to read.  Plus- with a vacation upcoming, I needed to find more books.  I finally decided it was about time I checked out my local library’s online book check-out for ereaders.  I have a Nook, which I do really enjoy using (but hate the cost of books- I read way too quickly).  So, tracked down my local library instructions, dusted off my library card, and logged-in.

The site my library uses is run by overdrive.com-a company that has been interested in creating digital content since 1996.  What’s great about the way my library set up their account, is that they have partnered with other smaller branches in the Northern Illinois area to make their collective buck go further.  What this means is we have access to tons of books (both new and older releases).  The features I particularly love include the ability to create a wish-list of books to read, a hold system that notifies me via email that I have a new book to download, and a rating system that let’s me see what I’ve rated previous books as well as what others think of books.

I do really wish that they would integrate (perhaps through an API) with my goodreads.com account, which is where I have a lot of books that are listed as “to-read” as well as where I prefer to do most of my reviews.  Hopefully, that is something they are working on.  Needless to say, that hasn’t really deterred me from devouring books now that I can get them at an affordable price (thank you tax dollars for making this free) and can find a lot of titles I am interested in.  I think in the past month and a half, I’ve read more books than I have in the first 10 months of the year.  It’s crazy and awesome!  I love technology.

That brings me to another point.  Take advantage of this stuff your taxes provide.  This goes for the parks that you enjoy taking your kids to, to the books and library services you can use daily.  I adore the library, but  my commuting hours just don’t allow me to make it over there that often.  But by using the library’s online site, I am able to show that I find the library valuable and take advantage of the taxes I pay. Either way, I’m so happy technology is allowing me the opportunity to use my ebook more frequently, to read more books I want, all through the convenience of my home computer.

If they had this when I was 13- I may never have fallen into the world of fandoms and fanfiction.   I got into those so I could read more without asking mom and dad to take me to the library or to buy me a new book. But that’s another story for another time…

If you have an ebook- contact your local library and find out what you need to do to get access for your e-reader.  Most of the programs are compatible with your Nooks, Kindles, and Sony e-readers of the world.   Some will require you to download an e-reader application to your desktop (Adobe Digital Editions, for example).  This is also a handy app if you are someone who reads PDFs on a regular basis- or wants to turn old fanfics into PDFs to read in a pinch.

So as we go into the Holiday season, if you’ve been thinking about getting an e-reader for yourself or someone in your family- check with your library and then fully exploit the perks that come from your library as it moves into the 21st Century.

Leave a Reply

