Why I prefer Budweiser Ads to Miller Ads…

9 May

Where Beer is concerned, I’m definitely more of a craft beer girl than I am the major players.  If I do have to drink one of the big boys, it’s usually a Budweiser.  I mean, I did live in Southern Illinois for 5 years and I got extremely spoiled by the freshness you could get down there (bottles literally birthed 3 days prior).

That said, I really don’t think my bias in taste has anything to do with my bias in well…taste.  You see, I cannot stand Miller Commercials.  And the reason I can’t was highlighted very well when I saw this Budweiser Commercial.

What most people are talking about with this commercial is that it is potentially the first post-Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell commercial. Which is great, if that’s the only way you want to look at it. However, call me a sap- because I think what I like more about the commercial above is the heart of the commercial. And almost all Budweiser commercials I can think of. They truly think about all the people who drink their beer- not just the 20 somethings who are interested in bashing people all the time, and giving into extreme stereotypes. The Budweiser ad shows two people (whether friends or lovers) using beer to really take advantage of their friendship.  This ad does not rely on insulting women or another demographic to sell the product. It relies on relationships and not image.

Miller- on the other hand, creates great commercials that are extremely insulting. Case and point here:

Miller is all about image. But the problem, from a marketing standpoint, when focusing wholly on image, is that you don’t really create a relationship. When you create your ads that are insulting and off putting to a demographic (in order to look cool), you fail to invite people to create a relationship with your brand. Instead- you ask them to be a spectator. But when you are Budweiser, and you use your Famous Clydesdale horses which have become and amazing icon of both emotional American moments and funny relational spots, you make me care about them. And they get that. That’s why they can do both funny and heartfelt because they know that they are working with relationships and not stupid humor.

So how does that relate back to brand marketing? Well, the way I look at it, the best and most iconic brands look as ways they build the relationship with their customers. In Onward- Howard Schultz discusses the re-tooling of the mission of Starbucks to make sure it included the relational qualities that make a Starbucks part of the community. Remember the Coke Polar Bears or the Santa Claus Truck? These were both expected and familiar sites during the holidays that became part of tradition. Budweiser understands this, and I’m not sure Miller does. Someone should probably let them know.

Leave a Reply

